Decluttering your life

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

If you’re studying for exams at the moment and kinda stressed then this ones for you.

Recently I’ve gotten so overwhelmed with revision notes, folders, sheets, books, files in my memory stick that I’ve kinda let school work go a bit and haven’t been that motivated to do any work…which is really bad because I’m hoping to go to uni in September but my mock results say otherwise. I’m not usually one to be stressed about work, I guess its on a different level for me I’m not sooo stressed that I wanna work 24/7, I’m more stressed by the fact I have loads to do and I’m not motivated to do it.

So today as a kind of spur of the moment thing, I started clearing out the bombshell of my room because lets face it there was no chance I was gonna do anything constructive in there. My mums always saying ‘tidy room tidy mind’ and I know its cliche but its actually so true, the clutter in my room was sort of cluttering my brain. (idk I can’t explain it) So I basically decided to do some spring cleaning…in January…

1. Sort out your clothes

clothes_hanger

If you’re like me and your clothes kinda gather over the week draped over chairs and surfaces, strewn on the floor and about 50 items of clothing on one hanger then it’s time to declutter. Wash and put away the stuff that are just randomly out of your wardrobe because you just wore it once ages ago but its too clean to wash after just one wear. Create more hanging space but putting hooks on your door, sides of wardrobe and wall. (out of the way) Get rid of the clothes that you hardly wear, go with hardly anything or you don’t really need. Separate out your wardrobe into sections: dresses with dresses, jumpers with jumpers etc. or per season. Get rid of broken/too small hangers, get rid of them if you have too many.

2. Free up floor space

6a00d8358081ff69e2016769189c2d970b-800wi.jpg

This is literally the most effective and quickest way of decluttering. I used to have a pile of cushions in a corner in my room, my mum said to use as a bean bag type thing to sit and read. Did I ever use it though, it was just taking up space so recently I cleared the space and idk it just feels like I can breathe again. More ways to clear floor space is to swap your stand up mirror for a wall mirror/wardrobe mirror, move furniture that’s too close together apart or in a different area of the room and tuck things you want to keep handy in a draw or underneath furniture.

3. Clear your dressing table and bedside table

IMG_0730+.JPG

These are the most cluttered areas in my room I think, but how many lotions and potions does a girl need? Move bathroom products to the bathroom, get rid of stuff you never use, put away new products that are out even when you have stuff left of the old product. Get a jewelry organizer (can be found in all-sorts of home shops) get containers to put all your bottles in, keep your makeup in a makeup bag or draw. Lastly only keep the makeup you use for example just the stuff you use on a daily basis. You don’t need thousands of foundations, lipsticks, eyeshadows only buy stuff you actually need and use.

4. Clear your desk

L1000613.JPG

Considering that the overall aim of this is to create a tidy work space and declutter your mind, clearing your desk is number 1. If you’re like me and you still have stuff from GCSE and AS that you know you’ll never use again or need then get rid of it. Organise your paper into neat files and stick in sheets in your books, create a shelf or drawer you can keep your books when your not bringing them to school in your bag, any text books keep in a separate shelf and organise pens and stuff in a pencil pot or pencil case. There is nothing more annoying than shit pens or pens that have run out so test them and buy more if you need them.

5. Organise your time

4212024._SY540_.jpg

I’m not gonna lecture you about not putting things off, procrastination etc. cus at the moment I’m procrastinating doing work by writing this and if you’re in school I’m sure you’ve been lectured enough times about it by your parents and teachers. I’m thinking more about trying to balance free time with study, seeing friends, having fun, continuing with your hobbies, maybe having a job etc. Seriously if its too stressful trying to balance everything in your life cut out that job because you have your whole life to work and have fun and nothing is as important as now and securing your future. You don’t have to do everything now, earn money, get good grades, buy loads of nice clothes, trying to lose weight, take part in multiple activities and hobbies etc. if you cant juggle it then don’t do it, there’s a time and a place for everything you can always take it up later

One thought on “Decluttering your life

Leave a Reply

