Winter warmers

Hello world, my names Helena and one of the best things about winter (besides it being my birthday and Christmas!) is cozying up on the sofa with a nice warm drink by the fire; subsequently goes on to imagine old-fashioned Victorian households like Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre. There’s nothing like a hot chocolate or cup of tea to warm your insides and; something that I never understood until now, to warm your hands. The biggest reason why my mum always drinks tea was so that she can hug the mug as her hands are always cold -a characteristic that I’ve unfortunately inherited; my hands are so sensitive to temperature, they go red and blotchy and sometimes purple in the cold and they still don’t warm up when it’s hot. There’s just no winning. So obviously because my hands are so weird, hot drinks are great -here’s the top 5 of ones I love:

  1. Hot Chocolate     You simply can’t go wrong with a Hot Chocolate; unless you don’t like chocolate in which case you’ve gone very wrong. Experiment with different ones; Aero and Galaxy are my fav although I did have a period of obsessing over white hot chocolate. Try adding spices like Cinnamon, Clove, Mixed spice or Ginger -shops like Thorntons or Hotel chocolat do great hot chocolates like chilli or spice. My Uncle makes his own hot chocolate by melting dark belgium chocolate and adding hot water -it is the richest thing on earth, I must have added like double the amount of sugar that’s in a packet of drinking chocolate so it’s not really a healthy option for me. Obviously you’ve got to have all the trimmings: mini marshmallows, cream, a shaking of cocoa powder -got that and you’re all sorted
  2. Green tea            I guess this is a bit more of a summery drink but it’s perfect as you can have it cold or hot; summer or winter. This is a perfect option if you’re watching your weight and you don’t want the extra calories from chocolate, cream, marshmallows, milk -we all know what I’d prefer! Plus apparently it has health benefits from preventing illnesses, shifting those extra pounds and raising mood decreasing symptoms of depression or anxiety.
  3. Mulled Wine  Oh. My. God. If ever there was a Christmas drink it’s mulled wine. I very often go to German Christmas Markets which happen pretty much in every major city around November-December time and the thing that makes me feel so festive is the spicy, citroeny, boozy smell of mulled wine. It’s basically warm wine with spices like cinnamon, cloves, star anise and nutmeg added and it’s just great to walk around with in a winters market in the evening all wrapped up warm.
  4. Christmas Spice Latte I know there are many versions of this in Starbucks or Costa but you can’t always afford to splash out on one of these every day during the winter season. Simply add a mean tsp of Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cardamon and all spice and half a tsp of ginger into your normal coffee -fill up half the mug with frothy milk and you’re made. [Remember to add sugar if you don’t already to cut the bitterness of some spices]
  5. Hot spiced apple juice                                                                                                                                                     I found this recipe in a Lidl Christmas magazine so I’m yet to try it but I have high hopes as I love apple juice anyway. Add 2 tbsp of runny honey, 2 cloves and 2 cinnamon sticks to 400ml of apple juice. Heat in a pan on a low heat and then serve in glass coffee cups.

That’s all from me for today, let me know your opinions of the hot drinks talked about and of any more winter drinks you like 😀

 

Leave a Reply

